Harvester development: weight reduction as an important development target

Harvester
Harvester

Modern full harvesters for beet and potato crops are highly complex agricultural machines, which carry out the entire harvesting process in a fully automated fashion.  The desire for an increase in efficiency has led to machines, as well as storage hoppers, becoming ever larger so that more and more rows can be harvested at the same time. A towed potato harvester of the latest generation has a total weight of over ten tonnes: fully loaded, this actually brings a modern beet harvester to over 60 tonnes total weight.


This weight produces a dangerous conflict of objectives in harvester development.  How can weight be reduced without thereby creating a reduction in performance and capacity?


A design engineer in product development for new harvester prototypes is working to solve this conflict.  He knows that the customer wants to reduce soil compaction.  One solution to this is the use of wider tyres with larger contact areas, but no weight reduction is achieved by this.  If an agricultural machine manufacturer wants to reduce the weight of his harvesters, the use of elastomers and synthetic materials is unavoidable.    In doing so, advantages result from the use of synthetic materials in the areas of durability and wear resistance, in addition to a saving in weight.   Elastomers, however, score with their elasticity, and good sealing and cushioning properties.


Jäger often undertakes joint development of components for harvester prototypes in collaboration with leading harvester manufacturers.  Challenges in the production of assemblies and components are more quickly overcome through Jäger’s materials expertise in the rubber and synthetic materials areas, as well as its extensive experience.  In-house test stands for the prior checking of materials and assemblies reduce the time required for field tests: Jäger is thus supporting design engineers in bringing innovative prototypes into series production more quickly.    

Roder


Every individual load-bearing roller reduces the weight – by almost 500 kilogrammes in total

There are up to 200 load-bearing rollers with a weight of 600 kilogrammes built into the filter belt systems of harvesters.  Jäger rose to the challenge of redesigning the components, which previously consisted of metal.  Following extensive materials tests, a glass fibre reinforced synthetic material in combination with a running surface made from a rubber composite was selected.   This elastomer can be adjusted according to the intended purpose and ensures outstandingly quiet running.  In addition, it offers the load-bearing roller the required elasticity.  Now only the ball bearings are still made of metal.   In order to avoid impurities, Jäger has attached a sealing lip on the intake side and a protective cap on the opposing side.  Using this selection of materials, a weight reduction to only 550 grammes per load-bearing roller has been achieved.  The harvester thus weighs half a tonne less.


Filter belts with rubberised carriers treat the crop carefully 

No consumer would buy potatoes whose skin has been damaged.  Filter belts with rubberised carriers are therefore of great importance in potato harvesters.  The previously used steel carriers are hard, and can cause pressure marks and scraping on the crop.   For this purpose, Jäger offers individually adjusted elastomer composites for carriers and transporter belts.  Thus as well as a reduction in weight, the potatoes are looked after too. 

New development of assemblies with high reliability

In collaboration with harvester manufacturers, Jäger is working on the new development of components to cover the whole life cycle of a product.  As well as product properties such as resistance to wear and reliability, this also includes the availability of spare parts.  Replacement time is an important criterium, particularly during harvest time, and the expense of fitting also has to be taken into account.  Too lengthy fitting times result in expensive machine downtimes.

In every development partnership for the construction of a new harvester prototype, Jäger sees an opportunity for introducing new ideas, and for proving its own materials expertise in such a development project.  The management of material properties, with the aid of an appropriate composite, is a factor for success in the development of components.  Every assembly whose weight can be reduced, and which is superior to previously used materials with regard to durability, helps in overcoming the conflict of objectives.        

   

Download our free white paper now! (German)

 


If you would like to know more about Jäger’s materials expertise, we recommend that you download our White Paper on agricultural technology.  You will find additional information there on the use of new materials in agricultural machines. 

 

We will be happy to advise you personally. Let us know your problem!

Roder-Entwicklung: Gewichtsreduzierung als wichtiges Entwicklungsziel

Roder
Roder

Moderne Voll­ernte-Roder in der Rüben- und Kartoffelernte sind hoch­komplexe Landmaschinen, die den gesamten Erntevorgang vollautomatisiert durchführen. Der Wunsch nach Effizienzsteigerung hat dazu geführt, dass sowohl die Maschinen als auch die Vorrats­bunker immer größer wurden und somit immer mehr Reihen gleichzeitig geerntet werden können. Ein gezogener Kartoffelroder neuester Generation besitzt ein Gesamtgewicht von über zehn Tonnen. Voll befüllt bringt es ein moderner Rübenroder sogar auf über 60 Tonnen Gesamtgewicht.


Dieses Gewicht erzeugt einen gefährlichen Zielkonflikt in der Roder-Entwicklung. Wie kann Gewicht reduziert werden, ohne dadurch eine Verringerung in Leistung und Volumen hervorzurufen?


In der Produktentwicklung arbeitet ein Kon­struk­teur neuer Roder-Prototypen daran, diesen Zielkonflikt zu lösen. Er weiß, dass die Kunden Bodenverdichtung verringern wollen. Eine Lösung dazu stellt der Einsatz von breiteren Reifen mit größerer Aufstandsfläche dar. Allerdings wird dadurch keine Gewichts­reduzierung erzielt. Wenn ein Produzent von Landmaschinen das Gewicht seiner Roder senken möchte, ist der Einsatz von Elastomeren und Kunststoffen unumgänglich. Dabei ergeben sich bei Kunststoffen neben der Gewichts­ersparnis auch Vorteile im Bereich der Haltbar­keit und der Abriebbeständigkeit. Die Elast­omere punkten hingegen mit ihrer Elastizität und den guten Dicht- und Dämpfungs­eigenschaften.


Jäger führt im Rahmen der Zusammenarbeit mit den führenden Herstellern von Rodern oft gemeinsame Teileentwicklungen für Roder-Prototypen durch. Durch die Materialkompetenz im Bereich Gummi und Kunststoff sowie die langjährige Erfahrung von Jäger werden Herausforderungen in der Produktion von Baugruppen und Bauteilen schneller bewältigt. Eigene Prüfstände zur Vorabkontrolle der Werkstoffe und Baugruppen reduzieren die Zeit der Feldtests. So unterstützt Jäger die Konstrukteure dabei, innovative Prototypen schneller zur Serienreife zu bringen.

Roder


Jede einzelne Tragrolle im Roder reduziert das Gewicht – in der Summe um fast 500 Kilogramm

In den Siebbandsystemen für Roder sind bis zu 200 Tragrollen mit einem Gewicht von 600 Kilogramm verbaut. Jäger stellte sich der Herausforderung, das bisher aus Metall bestehende Bauteil neu zu konzipieren. Nach umfangreichen Materialprüfungen wählte man glasfaserverstärkten Kunststoff in Kombination mit einer Lauffläche aus einer Gummimischung. Dieses Elastomer kann je nach Einsatzzweck angepasst werden und sorgt für eine ausgezeichnete Laufruhe. Zudem bietet es der Tragrolle die benötigte Elastizität. Lediglich das Kugellager ist heute noch aus Metall. Um Verschmutzungen zu vermeiden, hat Jäger an der Aufnahmeseite eine Dichtlippe und auf der anderen Seite eine Schutzkappe angebracht. Erreicht wurde mit dieser Materialauswahl eine Gewichtsreduzierung auf nur noch 550 Gramm pro Tragrolle. Der Roder wiegt damit eine halbe Tonne weniger.


Siebstabbänder mit gummierten Mitnehmern schonen die Ernte

Kein Verbraucher würde Kartoffeln kaufen, deren Haut beschädigt ist. Den Siebstabbändern mit gummierten Mitnehmern in Kartoffelrodern kommt daher eine große Bedeutung zu. Die bisher verwendeten Mitnehmer aus Stahl sind zu hart und können Druckstellen und Abschabungen beim Erntegut verursachen. Jäger bietet dafür individuell angepasste Elastomer-Mischungen für Mitnehmer und Transportbänder. Neben einer Gewichtsreduzierung werden so auch zusätzlich die Kartoffeln geschont.


Neuentwicklung von Baugruppen mit hoher Zuverlässigkeit

In der Zusammenarbeit mit Herstellern von Rodern arbeitet Jäger in der Neuentwicklung von Bauteilen daran, den gesamten Lebenszyklus des Produktes abzubilden. Dazu gehört neben den Produkteigenschaften wie Abriebbeständigkeit und Zuverlässigkeit auch die Verfügbarkeit von Ersatzteilen. Die Wiederbeschaffungszeit ist vor allem während der Ernte ein wichtiges Kriterium und auch der Aufwand für Montage muss berücksichtigt werden. Zu lange Montagezeiten haben teure Maschinenstillstände zur Folge.


In jeder Entwicklungspartnerschaft zur Konstruktion eines neuen Prototyps für Roder sieht Jäger die Chance, neue Ideen einzubringen und die eigene Materialkompetenz im Entwicklungsprojekt zu beweisen. Die Steuerung der Materialeigenschaften mit Hilfe der passenden Mischung ist ein Erfolgsfaktor in der Teileentwicklung. Jede Baugruppe, deren Gewicht reduziert werden kann und die in der Beständigkeit den bisher verwendeten Materialien überlegen ist, hilft bei der Bewältigung des Zielkonfliktes. 


   Whitepaper jetzt kostenlos herunterladen

 


Wenn Sie mehr über die Materialkompetenz von Jäger wissen möchten, empfehlen wir Ihnen den Download unseres Whitepapers zur Agrartechnik. Hier finden Sie ergänzende Informationen zum Einsatz neuer Werkstoffe in Landmaschinen.

Gerne beraten wir Sie persönlich. Nennen Sie uns Ihre Problemstellung!